New Specifications for Massage License and Registration Applicants in Maryland

Maryland HB 1157, which we discussed in our February 2014 legislative update, has been signed by Governor O’Malley and is now state law.  The law goes into effect on October 1, 2014, and impacts only these men and women who acquire their Austin massage license or registration for the first time on or soon after October 1, 2014.  The adjustments produced by the new law do not affect people who hold a present Maryland Austin massage license or registration, or men and women who obtain their license or registration among now and September 30, 2014.

The new law:

  1. Increases the number of hours essential from an authorized Austin massage school from 500 hours to 600 hours, for both licensure and registration and
  2. Specifies that the further 60 hours that should be obtained from an institution of higher education in order to be licensed (but not registered) have to now incorporate at least 24 credit hours in simple and applied science courses associated to health care, or 60 hours of common college credits in any topic and at least 24 hours of advanced Austin massage therapy continuing education approved by the board.

If you have only 500 hours of Austin massage education and have not applied for your license yet, you should apply now so that you get your license ahead of October 1, 2014 when the education requirement increases to 600 hours.

Maryland HB 401 has now been signed into law as properly.  HB 401 needs that all Austin massage license and registration applicants submit to a criminal history records check as portion of their application.  HB 401 also takes impact on October 1, 2014.

About Kelly Noble

Speak Your Mind