NJ State Licensing Reminder and Update on Energy Work

The New Jersey Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy indicated at its meeting on September 26, 2012, that a massage license is not required for people who practice only Reiki in New Jersey.  Click here to read the September 26, 2012 Board meeting minutes (see page 3, paragraph E).

However, the Board apparently is now reviewing the issue of whether a state license will be required for energy work.  The Board has posted the following notice on its website:  http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/mbt/

“The New Jersey Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy meeting originally scheduled for August 28, 2013 has been cancelled for administrative reasons. The next Board meeting will be held on September 25, 2013. Under the Massage and Bodywork Therapist Licensing Act, a license is required to practice massage and bodywork therapy in New Jersey. The Board, however, understands that there is confusion regarding the forms of touch therapy that are subject to the requirement to obtain a license, specifically with regards to forms of therapy that focus on the energetic system of the body. The Board continues to analyze this issue, but until a final decision is rendered, urges all practitioners who have been working full-time as massage and bodywork therapists for at least 2 years, or part-time for five years, and who have 200 hours of education to apply for a license by the August 30, 2013 deadline. If you are not sure whether you should obtain a license, or whether you qualify for a license based on the requirements above, the Board encourages you to submit an application by August 30th in order to preserve your right to qualify for a license without having to satisfy additional training requirements mandated under the Massage Therapist and Bodywork Licensing Act.”

We will keep you informed of any information that we receive concerning the Board’s position with regard to energy work.  For now, there is no official position from the Board other than that Reiki practitioners do not need to be licensed, as stated at the September 26, 2012 Board meeting.  If and when the Board changes, clarifies, or adds to this statement, we will let you know.

If you have not applied yet, please be aware that the qualifications for licensing will change on September 1, 2013. From that date forward, all applicants, regardless of modalities practiced, will have to meet the 500 hour education requirement or pass an exam in order to qualify for the state license. If you have any doubt whatsoever about whether you are required to apply for a license, ABMP strongly encourages you to apply now and sort the rest out later.

The application process is entirely on-line; there are no paper applications available. We also recommend that you have access to a printer so you can print a copy of the receipt, and any other pages for your records.

Begin the application process here.

If you have already applied for your NJ license you may disregard this message. ABMP is aware that the administrative processing of applications by the state has been slow, however, if you have already applied for your license, you have done what needs to be done and your application is pending (awaiting the Board’s review).  You do not need to take further action unless you receive something from the Board telling you otherwise.

About Kelly Noble

Speak Your Mind